When to Start

The thing about waiting for the right moment is that it never really comes. The real issue is that when you expect the real moment, you picture the perfect moment. Take me, for example, I picture it, fantasize about it and keep the hope of that image, telling myself: It will happen. It will come to pass.

The thing is the perfect moment actually exists. We just forget and look past it. The perfect moment is that moment when the idea pops into your head! When you remember to do something. When you see something.
Today, I saw something – the moon. The skies were really grey, like the rains were churning something dark in the heavens but somehow, there it was big and bright, shining a steady orange. A thought came to mind: take a picture of that it’s quite a sight! But somehow instead, I found myself saying to myself: but there’s no hurry, I can always take the picture later.
A few minutes later I found myself thinking: I should look up at the skies and see this beauty again. And when I looked it was gone!

This brings me to a conversation I had with someone recently, about phone calls. We’ve all had those moments when you think I should call this person or I had promised to call this other person and it’s about time I did. And usually that is followed by, ‘I can always make the call later’. And it goes on like that and the call is never made. Recently, you even find people arguing about the fact that they made a call or sent a text only to check in the logs and there’s nothing.
And as a excuse we simply say, shamefully; ‘I think I forgot’. Secretly hoping that the other person understands that the conviction you had in looking for the proof in the logs will kind of exonerate you, you know, for the convicted effort.

It’s called procrastination.

I don’t suffer from procrastination when it involves deadlines set for me or accountability to others. The kind of deadlines where there’s an external expectation. But I have been long-diseased from procrastination of dreams and hopes, of waiting for the right moment to start. The right moment to work on it just for the sake of getting it done or even started.

And so as a start on the healthy regimen to rid myself of the disease, welcome to my blog.


Leave a comment